The constituency count

This is my second general election since I became eligible to vote, and the most interesting of the two by far. Mosst of my local candidates seemed too scared to approach my front door over the last four weeks, despite the fact that there are five votes registered to this house. Three measly pieces of campaign literature (FG, Labour, FF) came through the postbox.
When it came to selecting the candidates I was going to vote for, some trawling was necessary. I knew who I definitely didn’t want to vote for so a process of elimination sorted out my order of preferences eventually.

This picture is from the start of the second round of the count in Dundalk on Saturday. We got there in time to see Fergus O’Dowd and Gerry Adams to be elected. The evening was a combination of tension, euphoria, disappointment and annoyance. I’ll have more pictures from there during the day.

On another note, it seems this theme will only let me post one picture at a time. Anybody know a work around for this?!

This entry was published on February 27, 2011 at 11:05 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Go on go on go on...

