Piglets and treadmills

Firstly, the piglet has nothing to do with the rest of the post below. But quick oink update: we’re down to eight piglets after another unfortunate rolling incident.

I’ve sat on my rear for the last three and a bit months with little or no exercise because of the two broken wrists situation. This has made me nervous to walk outside when it’s even slightly damp, so running outside is definitely not an option. So instead, can someone please tell me how to run on a treadmill please? I know it seems like an odd question – surely you just run, right? I can walk on a treadmill fine, just not run on one. But I try to speed up and end up doing a funny skipping hiccupy looking thing. It just doesn’t seem normal to run while not actually moving forward! And at the same time I’m convinced that perky gym girl beside me that doesn’t seem to sweat will be judging my running technique as she bounces along on her treadmill. The only other person not running on the twenty treadmills going are me and the sixty year old man in the front row. Why don’t they have ‘treadmill running’ classes available to gym newbies? I can’t be the only one with this affliction.

And the most important question of all is: how easy is it to fall over while running on a treadmill?!

This entry was published on March 14, 2011 at 9:55 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Piglets and treadmills

  1. Hello, and haha! I used to suffer from treadmill terror too. I’m not sure how I got over it, bar actually just doing it. I don’t think it’s that easy to fall over, but that didn’t stop me from being convinced I would. Try to find a speed you’re happy enough to run at first, and then you can build it up from there. In summation, if I can do it, you can too. High five!

Go on go on go on...

