Bye Bye Birdie

I have a head for useless facts. I also love old musicals. Both are proving very useful for my job, because I spend a lot of time carrying out research for radio and TV programmes. It doesn’t feel much like work, sitting and reading about Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Bye Bye Birdie, High Society and more of the like. I’m in heaven! And if there’s ever a ‘useless facts about musicals’ quiz, I’ll totally rock it.

I’ve been here for nearly four weeks now. Moving to London isn’t really a culture shock to an Irish emigrant, with the same language and with so many of the same shops on the high street. But there is one main difference – Irish people love to talk. To anyone, be it a stranger in the supermarket, the person on the ticket desk in the station, the security people at work. At first I mistook curt, succinct replies to my silly questions like ‘which way is it to platform 2?’ for rudeness. Now I know that it’s not rudeness, it’s just not chitchat. So I’ll stop trying to talk to random people now!

My cousin made this lovely little birdie. She’s very handy!

This entry was published on July 19, 2011 at 9:40 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Go on go on go on...

