Skirting around the problem

IMG_20141228_153044

At Christmas time, I had a go at making the Delphine skirt from Tilly & the Buttons book. This book has become a bible for me, as I slowly introduce myself to the world of clothes sewing – a lot harder than the lovely 2D quilt sewing I’ve been doing up to now. I made this out of some beautiful medium-weight wool that I got on sale in Britex Fabrics in San Francisco. This shop was the most amazing fabric shop I’ve ever been in… I think I spent about two hours in there! There was a flash sale on when I was in, so I just took that as a sign that I should spend an inordinate amount of time and money in there. I also got these gorgeous buttons there, which have the USS Constitution on them, as I was reliably informed. Apologies for the poor picture quality, I was using my phone. I must get my proper camera out  for these jobs!

The wool was lovely to sew with, though I was petrified of making a mess of cutting it out. I think it took me about four six hours to cut out the fabric. It’s so beautifully soft and flowy and silky, but didn’t slip through the machine too much… I’m in love.

photo

The invisible zip went in fairly well, though I don’t have an invisible zip foot for my machine… I must put that on my Santa list. And the red lining adds a bit of Christmas jaunt to the whole thing! I turned the hem up with some tape and slip stitched it on by hand, so it looks nice and clean.

IMG_20150425_173554

But then… disaster struck. I stupidly threw the skirt in the laundry basket along with all my regular clothes, and caught it up with a load of jeans, jumpers and other dark clothes, and fired it in the washing machine. And of course it shrank, spectacularly. It’s completely felted and feels horrible. I’m such an idiot.

Thankfully, I bought oodles of this fabric and had just about enough to cut out another skirt from. I knocked one together, put the buttons back on, and am now pretending that this disaster never happened.

Nothing to see here… carry on!

This entry was published on May 16, 2015 at 3:25 pm. It’s filed under crafty, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Go on go on go on...

