Quilts

There’s been plenty of quiltmaking going on over the last few months – I really must put pictures of all of them up here. I loved these two quilts, both were commissions for newly arrived babies. I usually pick fairly gender neutral colours, even if I know if the baby is a boy or girl, so the quilts can be used for any siblings too. I got this fabric in the lovely Crafty Fox in Drogheda, which is one of my favourite fabric shops around. The staff are so helpful and I’ve come to know them so well I’ll often call back in to show them my finished projects!

Half square triangles are my favourite patchwork square – they’re so versatile and can produce so many lovely patterns. Not to mention they’re so quick to put together! I’ll never get sick of pinwheels, and the Ohio Star on the square quilt stands out really well in white and red.

For the backings, the amazing science fabric for the square quilt came from Beverly’s in San Luis Obispo, which we kind of happened across while noseying around SLO the on day we stayed there. This quilt was heading for a scientist and her baby, so I thought it was perfect! The backing of the pinwheel quilt was a lovely soft Liberty Tana Lawn print called Queue for the Zoo, which features parrots wearing fez hats.

On another completely different note, San Luis Obispo was such a lovely little town. We fitted in a trip on our whistlestop driving tour of California last October (which I’m still dreaming about). We stayed in a slightly mad but very charming B&B called Petit Soleil, which was straight out of the Gilmore Girls.

This entry was published on May 31, 2015 at 7:46 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Go on go on go on...

